No signal to screen after upgrade

Hangout of the Badger Squad, catch up on the latest news and rumors.
The Public Forum is open to friends of the squadron.

Moderators: Commanders, NCO, Officers

macdelta
Squad NCO
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:04 pm
Location: Norway

No signal to screen after upgrade

Postby macdelta » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:00 pm

I upgraded the PC this weekend with a MSI Z97 Gaming 5 and a second Gigabyte GTX770 (upgraded to SLI configuration), and there seem to be a minor problem. When starting up there is no signal from the GPU to the screen.

PC seems to start up fine except that I'm not able to view the screen. After a little while the screen goes into power saving mode as it receives no signal. There are no debug errors on the motherboard (own display on the MB).

Screen is connected with DisplayPort. (No HDMI on the screen.)

Power unit is a 850 W, and this should be more than enough for dual 770's. CPU = i5 4460.

I'll see if I'm able to find a DVI cable and hook it later this evening or tomorrow.


Do anybody have any idea what the problem could be?
Image

Szyporyn
Squad CO
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: No signal to screen after upgrade

Postby Szyporyn » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:13 pm

My only guess would be the PSU - 850 may actually be too little
Image

Szyporyn
Squad CO
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: No signal to screen after upgrade

Postby Szyporyn » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:14 pm

Try StackOverflow - awesome site for help
Image

macdelta
Squad NCO
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:04 pm
Location: Norway

Re: No signal to screen after upgrade

Postby macdelta » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:58 pm

I'll try to completely remove the second GPU later tonight. I'm at meeting in my photography club at the moment, but will probably be finished in a couple of hours.
Image

Szyporyn
Squad CO
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: No signal to screen after upgrade

Postby Szyporyn » Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:24 pm

Think I have it - if you go SLI, then the cards have to be identical
Image

macdelta
Squad NCO
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:04 pm
Location: Norway

Re: No signal to screen after upgrade

Postby macdelta » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:33 pm

Finally got it. Had to clear the CMOS on the motherboard.
Image

Szyporyn
Squad CO
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: No signal to screen after upgrade

Postby Szyporyn » Tue Oct 28, 2014 11:09 am

Blah, well as long as it is sorted :D
Image

Michael Myers
Squad Officer
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:10 am
Location: Denmark

Re: No signal to screen after upgrade

Postby Michael Myers » Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:14 pm

Nice to hear that you got your beast up and running my friend! :)
Image


Return to “Public Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest